Julia M. Duckwall Scholarship

The 2016 application process is now closed.
The Julia M. Duckwall Professional Development Scholarship program facilitates the professional growth and development of early career institutional research professionals. Named in honor of the late Julia M. Duckwall, a prominent AIR member and board member, the scholarship is awarded in the spirit of her tireless passion for advancing the field of institutional research. Three awards will be granted in 2016 to support significant professional development activities.
Award Options
Recipients may choose from one of two award options:

1. 2016 AIR Forum Registration and Pre/Post-Forum Workshop(s)

    • Prepaid Forum Registration (recipient must meet membership requirement)
    • Prepaid Pre/Post-Forum Workshop Registration (1 full-day or 2 half-day sessions)
    • 1 hotel night provided in the conference hotel

2. Registration for One Data & Decisions® Academy course. Available courses are:

    • Foundations of Data Management
    • Longitudinal Tracking for Institutional Research
    • Foundational Statistics for Decision Support
    • Introduction to Learning Outcomes
    • Designing IR Research
    • Overview of Survey Design
Application Criteria
To be considered for the award, applicants must meet the following criteria: 
  • Hold current year AIR membership;
  • Be currently employed in the IR field;
  • Have worked for 3-5 years in a campus-based IR/assessment office (full- or part-time);
  • Have never attended the AIR Forum; and
  • Have never received a Data & Decisions Academy Scholarship.
Application Process 
In addition to verifying personal, demographic, and eligibility information, the following two documents are required for a complete application:
1. Essay (limit 750 words) addressing the impact this award is expected to have on your professional development. The essay should be written for a blind review, which means that the essay should not include information that would personally identify you or your institutional affiliation. The essay should address each of the following prompts:
  • Briefly describe your current work in IR and provide a summary review of your current skills and accomplishments in the field.
  • What outcomes do you anticipate from your participation in your selected professional development experience?
  • Duckwall Award recipients are expected to honor Julia Duckwall’s commitment to “giving back to the IR field.” How will you assure that others will benefit from your experiences?
2. Letter of Support from your Supervisor. The letter should be approximately one paragraph stating that he/she acknowledges that your participation in the professional development activities will be approved as an "on-the-clock" activity. 
All applications must be completed and submitted by 11:59 p.m. EST on December 2, 2015. Notification emails will be sent by January 30, 2016. If you have questions, please contact the AIR Scholarship Team at 850-385-4155 x109 or scholarships@airweb.org
  Previous Recipients
  • Marc LoGrasso, Institutional Outcomes Assessment Analyst, Bryant & Stratton College-Amherst (2016)
  • Johnson Mwangi, Statistical Analyst, Strathmore University (2016)
  • Ronald Severtis, Director, Office of Institutional Research, Indiana University-Southeast (2016)
  • Sara Cooper, Information Research Analyst, Jackson State Community College (2015)
  • Lisa Cowan, Data Analyst/Research Associate, Southern Regional Education Board (2015)
  • Jennifer May, Research Analyst, Tufts University (2015)
  • Kristin McKinley, Associate Director of Research Administration, Lawrence University (2014)
  • Elizabeth Owolabi, Director of Institutional Research, Concordia University Chicago (2014)
  • Keri Samson, Director of Institutional Research, Assessment & Planning, University of Dubuque (2014)
  • Rachel Krug, Director of Institutional Research, Franklin Pierce University (2013)
  • Theresa Milton, Director of Institutional Research, Arizona Christian University (2013)
  • Linda Wellborn, Director of Institutional Effectiveness, Accreditation Activities, Evangel University (2013)