2019 AIR Awards

2019 AIR Awards

Each year, AIR members recognize colleagues who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the association and to the institutional research profession. It is an honor to be nominated for one of these prestigious awards by one’s peers. Member committees review nominees’ materials and select the award recipients.

AIR celebrates the 2019 recipients, each of whom shared letters of acceptance to convey their appreciation to fellow AIR members and the IR community.

Glenn W. James

Outstanding Service Award

Glenn W. James, Director of Institutional Research, Tennessee Tech University

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR.


John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award

Lydia Snover, Director of Institutional Research, Office of the Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 

The John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award recognizes an individual whose professional career has significantly advanced the field of institutional research through extraordinary scholarship, leadership, and service.


Sidney Suslow Scholar Award

Richard Voorhees, Principal and Senior Scientist, Voorhees Group LLC  

The Sidney Suslow Scholar Award recognizes an individual who, through scholarly work, has made significant contributions to the field of institutional research and advanced understanding of the profession in a meaningful way.