2013 AIR Member Award Recipients Announced

Each year, AIR members recognize their colleagues who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the Association and to the institutional research profession. It is an honor to be nominated for one of these prestigious awards by one’s peers. Member committees review nominees’ materials and select the award recipients.  

AIR celebrates the 2013 recipients, all of whom shared letters of acceptance to convey their appreciation to fellow members. 

AIR Outstanding Service Award
William E. Knight, Ball State University

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR.  

Letter of Acceptance




John E. Stecklein Distinguished Member Award
Michael F. Middaugh, Higher Education Consultant (University of Delaware, Retired)       

The John E. Stecklein Distinguished Member Award recognizes an individual whose professional career has significantly advanced the field of institutional research through extraordinary scholarship, leadership, and service.  

Letter of Acceptance 



Sidney Suslow Scholar Award
Robert K. Toutkoushian, University of Georgia  

The Sidney Suslow Scholar Award recognizes an individual who, through scholarly work, has made significant contributions to the field of institutional research and advanced understanding of the profession in a meaningful way. 

Letter of Acceptance