AIR Awards

AIR Award Recipients

Service Award


Sandi Bramblett

John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award


Joe Saupe

Sidney Suslow
Scholar Award


John Muffo

Visit the 2016 AIR Award Recipients page for more information about the awardees.

2017 AIR Awards Process

Each year, AIR recognizes and celebrates individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the Association and the profession through their leadership, service, and scholarship.

Nominations for the 2017 Outstanding Service Award, John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award, and Sidney Suslow Scholar Award are due by December 30, 2016.

Visit each awards page, linked below, for specific nomination criteria and instructions.

  • Outstanding Service Award recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR, and may be bestowed posthumously. 
  • John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award recognizes a member whose professional career has significantly advanced the field of institutional research through extraordinary scholarship, leadership, and service.  
  • Sidney Suslow Scholar Award recognizes an individual who, through scholarly work, has made significant contributions to the field of institutional research and advanced understanding of the profession in a meaningful way. The candidate may or may not be an AIR member or past member.

Publication Awards

  • Charles F. Elton Best Paper Award celebrates the scholarly papers presented at the AIR annual conference (Forum) that are subsequently accepted for publishing in a peer reviewed journal. These papers best exemplify the standards of excellence established by the award's namesake and make significant contributions to the field of IR. The purpose of the award is to promote scholarship and to acknowledge that AIR members make a wide variety of scholarly contributions to the field, ranging from theory to practice.