Outstanding Service Award


The Outstanding Service Award recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR, and may be bestowed posthumously.

Recipients will:

  • Have five or more years of AIR membership.
  • Not be a member of, or candidate for, the Board of Directors in the membership year of the nomination.
  • Have a substantial record of participation in AIR activities.

Important Dates

  • Nominations are accepted year round.
  • Award recipients are typically announced in May.

Jump To:

How to Nominate

A complete nomination packet* must be submitted via email, and include:

  • A subject line of "Nomination Packet: Outstanding Service Award."
  • A letter of nomination from a current AIR member that speaks to the candidate’s service to AIR and clearly addresses each of the criteria specified above.
  • At least two letters of support from AIR members.
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae/resume.
  • The candidate's contact information, including telephone number, email address, and mailing address.

Email the nomination materials listed above to air@airweb.org with the subject line "Nomination Packet: Outstanding Service Award."

Submit Nomination

*It is the responsibility of each member nominating a applicant to ensure that the nomination packet is complete.

Award History

2022: Jennifer A. Brown
Dawn Kenney
2020: Debbie Dailey
2019: Glenn W. James
2018: Julie Carpenter-Hubin
​2017: Gayle Fink
2016: Sandi Bramblett
​2015: Fred Lillibridge
​2014: Jim Trainer
​2013: Bill Knight
2012: Mary Ann Coughlin
2011: Victor (Vic) M.H. Borden
2010: Michael Middaugh
2010: Richard A. Voorhees
2009: Vincent Vendel
2008: Edward L. Delaney
2007: Meihua Zhai
2007: William R. Fendley
2006: Dawn Geronimo Terkla
2006: J. Fredericks Volkwein
2005: Susan G. Broyles
2004: Timothy K.C. Chow
2002: Trudy H. Bers
2002: Timothy R. Sanford
2001: Mary M. Sapp
2000: Tod R. Massa
1999: Larry W. Nelson
1999: Donald J. Reichard
1998: Laura E. Saunders
1997: Jean Endo
1997: Richard Howard
1997: John Williams
1996: Hans A. Acherman
1995: Raj Sharma
1994: Patrick T. Terenzini
1993: Glynton Smith
1993: Mantha Vlahos Mehallis
1992: Gerald W. McLaughlin
1992: Deborah J. Teeter
1991: John A. Muffo
1991: Jean C. Chulak
1991: Marilyn K. Brown
1990: Murriel L. Gilliam
1990: Alton L. Taylor
1989: Robert F. Grose
1988: Joseph T. Sutton
1987: John S. Chase
1986: Charles F. Elton
1986: Richard R. Perry
1985: Paul Jedamus
1985: Thaly Nilsson
1985: James W. Firnberg
1983: Lois E. Torrence
1982: Robert H. Fenske
1982: F. Craig Johnson
1982: Marvin W. Peterson
1981: Joe L. Saupe
1981: Bernard S. Sheehan
1980: Cameron L. Fincher
1980: James R. Montgomery
1980: Risdon J. Westen
1979: Charles I. Brown
1979: Gustav J. Froehlich