Awards and Scholarships

Nominate. Apply. Share.

AIR awards recognize the contributions of current and past leaders while AIR scholarships help ensure a strong pipeline of future institutional research (IR) leaders. 


If you have any questions or need assistance, email


Each year, AIR recognizes and celebrates individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the association and the profession through their leadership, service, and scholarship. 

  • NEW! AIR Rising Star Award*: Recognizes institutional research professionals who are early in their careers and are emerging leaders. 
  • Outstanding Service Award*: Recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR. 
  • John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award*: Recognizes a member whose professional career has significantly advanced the field of institutional research through extraordinary scholarship, leadership, and service. 
  • Sidney Suslow Scholar Award: Recognizes an individual who, through scholarly work, has made significant contributions to the field of institutional research and advanced understanding of the profession in a meaningful way. 
  • Charles F. Elton Best Paper Award: Celebrates the scholarly papers that best exemplify the standards of excellence established by the award's namesake and that make significant contributions to the fields of IR, IE, or Assessment.

*This award is only offered to current AIR members

Learn More


AIR provides scholarships that facilitate the professional growth and development of early-career institutional research professionals. These scholarships are awarded on an annual basis. 

*This scholarship is only offered to current AIR members.

Learn More