Each year, AIR recognizes and celebrates individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the association and the profession through their leadership, service, and scholarship.

  • Recipients will receive a congratulatory letter from the AIR Executive Director and President.
  • Each awardee's institution president will receive a letter from the AIR Executive Director and President.
  • Recipients' acceptance letters and letters of support will be published on the AIR website.
  • An announcement will be included in an issue of eAIR. 
  • AIR will recognize the awardees during the annual business meeting.
  • Awardees will receive official award plaques.

There are three awards available, outlined below.

Have an idea for a new award?

Review the procedures PDF. Proposals must be received by July 1 of a given year to be considered for implementation at the following AIR Forum.

Download PDF

AIR Awards

Outstanding Service Award

Recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR, and may be bestowed posthumously.

John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award

Recognizes a member whose professional career has significantly advanced the field of institutional research through extraordinary scholarship, leadership, and service.

Sidney Suslow Scholar Award

Recognizes an individual who, through scholarly work, has made significant contributions to the field of institutional research and advanced understanding of the profession in a meaningful way.

Learn More and Nominate

2020 Recipients

Debbie Dailey


Outstanding Service Award

Dawn Geronimo Terkla


John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award

Victor Borden


Sidney Suslow Scholar Award

Publication Awards

Charles F. Elton Best Paper Award celebrates the scholarly papers presented at the AIR annual conference (AIR Forum) that are subsequently accepted for publishing in a peer-reviewed journal. These papers best exemplify the standards of excellence established by the award's namesake and make significant contributions to the field of IR. The purpose of the award is to promote scholarship and to acknowledge that AIR members make a wide variety of scholarly contributions to the field, ranging from theory to practice.

Learn More