AIR Awards Promote Association, Higher Education Success

As a membership organization, the success of AIR is a celebration of the knowledge, skill, and dedication of its members. AIR awards recognize individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the Association and the IR profession through their leadership, service, and scholarship.

The three awards, the Outstanding Service Award, the John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award, and the Sidney Suslow Scholar Award each have specific criteria focused on leadership, service, and scholarship. To be considered for an award, a recipient must be nominated by an AIR member and receive at least two letters of support from other members.

AIR is pleased to recognize the outstanding contributions of these three individuals to the Association and the larger higher education community.

Outstanding Service Award

Sandi Bramblett, Executive Director of Institutional Research and Planning/Decision Support Services, Georgia Institute of Technology

Sandi’s remarkable commitment to AIR is demonstrated by the myriad roles she has assumed in service to the Association, including her term as President (2013-2014). Several of her colleagues highlighted her support of professional development through work in the AIR Institutes, including as director of the Foundations Institute held in 1997 and as co-director in 1998. Colleagues also highlighted her work in various roles regarding Forums held between 2001 and 2015, including Local Arrangements Chair and proposal reviewer, as well as a presenter at nine separate conferences. One letter of support captured the essence of this award and her commitment to AIR by summarizing "Among Sandi's many positive traits is her charismatic and positive spirit that she carries with her at all times. She is extremely supportive of the IR profession and individuals who are or seek to be institutional researchers. Her devotion to move the IR profession forward is enhanced by her personal style and encouragement of others. In my opinion, there is not a finer candidate for this award; I strongly support her nomination."

Letter of Acceptance
Letters of Nomination and Support

John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award

Joe Saupe, University of Missouri, Retired

Joe’s colleagues laud his vision for higher education-a vision that has served as the foundation for a prolific and impactful career in institutional research. One colleague remarked, "He has probably contributed more with his writings, publications, papers, presentations at the Forums, panels, workshops, etc., than any other AIR member either past or present." Joe served as one of AIR's earliest presidents and is described as having played a significant role in defining and shaping the profession of institutional research-one of the first to put in writing the key tenets of the profession. HIs publications are "required reading and serve as the foundation of IR graduate courses, certificate programs, and those beginning their careers in IR." Joe is celebrated for his leadership skills and ability to turn data into actionable information. Impressively, each person who wrote in support of Joe’s nomination for this award referenced his roles as mentor, colleague, and friend. One colleague asserted, "I urge strong favorable consideration be given to this public and official association recognition of Joe Saupe for all he has given with no thought of repayment during his lifetime IR career. I, for one, and we in the profession, are all better for it." 

Sidney Suslow Scholar Award
John Muffo, John A. Muffo and Associates, Inc.
John’s scholarship touches a variety of aspects of the field of institutional research, including leadership roles in founding the electronic AIR Newsletter (now eAIR), publishing the first AIR Primer with Gerry McLaughlin, and later Assessment in the Disciplines, as well as work on the Handbook for Institutional Research. John is described as having a commitment to institutional research and higher education as reflected in his numerous written works (over 55 articles, monographs, and chapters), and providing mentorship and direction to a number of graduate students who are now serving in institutional research positions. One colleague remarked, "Without exception I have found him to be a knowledgeable and reliable contributing colleague. I believe his contributions have been significant to institutional research and higher education, and merit the recognition conveyed by the Sidney Suslow Award.''  




To add a comment, Sign In
Total Comments: 1
Bill posted on 5/12/2016 10:44 AM
Congratulations to these three pillars of our profession, who I have been privileged to know.